Sunless Tanners

It’s about that time of year where a nice healthy, sun-kissed look is mandatory. With “healthy” being the keyword here I have come up with a collage of self tanners I have either tried of aspire to try. I have tried to come up with a widely priced range as I know it’s a commitment when you buy these things.

The Bare Escentuals and Victoria’s Secret selections I have yet to try. I have read they are pretty decent, and for me the more reviews the better.  I like that they are reasonably priced as well which is an ultimate plus.

Bare Escentuals Faux Tan Sunless Tanner, $22; Victoria’s Secret Sunkissed Bronze Instant Self Tan Lotion with a Tint, $12; Fake Bake Fair Self-Tanning Lotion, $25; St. Tropez Self Tan Bronzing Lotion, $30-40

Fake Bake and St. Tropez are more of an ambitious purchase as they are a little pricier. I have tried both and feel St. Tropez works better and also conditions my skin. Neither of these looked too orangey on my olive undertones so I was fairly impressed with the versatility to skin tones.

With these two types, they come out really chocolatey as they have a color guide so you can see if you have any streaking when you apply. The directions advise you should apply before bed and wash the color guide off in the morning. I have done both and prefer applying at night and washing in the morning. A tip I have adopted is mixing it with a regular lotion to build a tan. Not only does it help you conserve what you use, it lets you see how the color looks as it builds. This gives you enough time to discontinue the use if you don’t like it. (I would reference their return policies if you REALLY don’t like them)

Happy (sunless) tanning!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

