Update: Better Products

Hi All. So since this post, I have been on a mission to rid our home of the bad stuff. Well, not all at once because I am not a millionaire (unfortunately) but one bottle at a time.  I wanted to share with you what I have tried so far.

If you remember my love for good smelling shampoo, it looks like I can have my cake and eat it too. Organix has a Moroccan Argan Oil line that is just divine. It smells and works so amazing and has no harmful chemicals. Super points for its price at 7.99 a bottle (prices may vary depending where you find it). My last Birchbox surprised me with this pretty number that I also am loving. Weleda Wild Rose Smoothing Facial Lotion. It’s really silky, smooth and doesn’t over hydrate, but doesn’t under hydrate either – which is especially important if you live in humidity (grr!)  I’m still working on finding a facial moisturizer that works year around, this might just be it. Here’s the kicker. Spectrum Organic Coconut Oil. This oil makes your skin feel like heaven. I’m not huge on the scent, however it fades quickly when it soaks in. It’s way better for you than Mineral Oil, and has many more benefits too.  Test it out. See what you think.

Because when I dive into something, I usually plunge. Go big or go home is my motto. However, when taking on this task of better products, it can be overwhelming. As with anything there are two sides to a story. I have found some organic products or “natural” products aren’t as “good” for you as expected. When using the EWG Skin Deep site, the rating wasn’t always where I thought it would be and it was a bit disappointing. My theory is if you’re getting rid of the proven bad stuff then you’re doing yourself (and your body) a favor. It’s like healthier meal decisions –  sometimes you want a Big Mac but make sure your not eating them everyday for every meal. You know?

Stay tuned for more product trials.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Update: Better Products

  1. Thanks for the suggestions!!! The coconut oil sounds amazing!
    Star Hughes Living

Leave a Reply

